Recount Retardation

Recount lies.

No, I’m serious; it really does.

And if I was to say to you what I think is largely responsible for the current abundance of DPS players that simply cannot wait for a tank to even pull off one GCD, I’d say Recount is right up there.

Before going any further, I’d like to say that I have Recount as part of my UI because, as a raid leader, I often need to know who’s doing what. But presentation of the information is HUGELY different to what that informatin actually implies; therefore, the capability to properly analyse what is on Recount is absolutely fundamental before you even consider linking it in party chat. I wish people understood that.

Let’s be honest.

How many people have seen a DPS player link their Recount continuously throughout an instance? I guarantee most of you have come across it. How many people have been in a group when a person (typically the same one over and over) continously asks what his DPS is? Again, I guarantee everyone is familiar with it. It’s unlucky, but a sad fact that people now look at what they’re doing from a purely numerical point of view and consider it synonymous with high performance. I only wish there were a way to make it clear to people that Recount statistics, without context, are TOTALLY AND UTTERLY MEANINGLESS.

Let me tell you a story.

I recall, a while back, playing my priest on a 10 man pick up raid of the Obsidian Sanctum. My spec was Discipline and the other two healers were a restoration shaman and a holy paladin. After a generally uneventful trash clear (including Vesperon, Tenebron and Shadron), it was decided that I would raid heal while topping off the add-tank, and let the paladin do the job of healing up the main tank. Needless to say, Sartharion went down without incident and I was fortunate enough to win the T7 glove token when it dropped. Up pops the raid death knight with the immortal statement:

“lol nubs always roll good”.

He then linked the healing meter from the fight, showing me clearly in last place behind both the shaman and paladin on heals done. Naturally, this was succeeded by the obligatory “lol/rofl/lmao” stream of condemnation that typically accompanies such jibes. Awesome. I was with a raid that had absolutely no idea of context, nor any inclination to understand it. Naturally, I went on to explain that the paladin had used Holy Light for over 95% of spells cast with an overhealing percentage beyond 85%, while the shaman had spammed Chain Heal to the tune of 79% and managed to run at over 60% overheals. In comparison, I had managed to use Renew, Prayer of Mending, Flash Heal and Power Word: Shield while managing to run at a mere 16% overhealing; I didn’t use Penance once. Not withstanding the fact my mana and cast efficiency were considerably better than my counterparts, there is no way of telling how much damage I prevented by using shields. All this was with the backdrop of not a single death (despite people being caught in fires) and the only player who went under 70% of his health was the main tank.

This is a sobering story and should amply illustrate why Recount figures, though fun, should be taken with a grain of salt unless presented under the right context. That is why I intend to set up a raid rule that nobody is to link, or request a link from, Recount throughout a raid evening.

Throughout the course of an encounter, there are too many variables that skew the results and give false numbers that either inflate or deflate an accurate view on performance. It also never helps to link DPS meters during a raid when there will always be people doing less damage, who may simply think that they are not contributing as much to the raid and lose even more heart as a result. And when you’re moving nicely, with bosses going down, why bother about how much more damage than your team mates you are doing? You couldn’t do so much damage if your tank wasn’t geared for more threat. And your tank couldn’t gear for more threat if he didn’t have a strong healer. Raiding is a team relay, with all members interdependent on each other and working for the long haul. The burst out of the blocks is meaningless when it doesn’t contribute to the whole picture.

Let your raid leader worry about the meters.

It’s their job.

4 Responses to “Recount Retardation”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Right on, i confess being a recount user for a short time when leveling with my buddies just for friendly jabs at each other,and a means to see if I was doing something wrong.Nowadays,i see the "evil" of it and lack of understanding of its use.It has become a thing I dread most when PuGing as the people just want to jump a pull to get the high numbers."oh my god,my dps i so low today"…overaggroing and not caring,requiring that i keep too much attention on something other than doing my job-which is getting them not killed. There is no I in team

  2. Gwenifred of Arathor Says:

    I use recount to check I'm not slacking in raid environment, then World Of Logs to analyse it and make sure I'm not missing out on any tricks others of my class are using for dps boosts etc.The other thing people don't consider are things like stacking sunder armor, taking a break from dps to save a healer from an add, actually engaging your brain to benefit the raid in ways other than your personal dps. Too many people don't consider this. In my raid group we have 2 fury warriors and me as arms, and I'm the one who supplies improved commanding shout.In pug groups I often link overhealing, damage taken and the other information provided by recount in response. Or point out the fact that X raid member spent their whole time aoeing trash mobs that they didn't have to dps or warriors pulling aggro on adds/dipping into fire/green stuff to get more rage and causing healers un-necessary grief).The focus in vanilla used to be not pulling aggro from the tank and doing good dps. Now its focussed on making the dps number go up as high as possible without much consideration for anything else.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I agree. I know I kept ranting in /g on how recount/dmgmeters destroyed teamplay but no one ever listened. I don't know how may times I've seen rogues ON INTERRUPT DUTY missing interrupts cause their triggerfinger got too happy and bursted away that last 10 or 15 energy he needed for a kick. It sucks and even though it may be good to boost slacking dps, the boost may sometime be over the top resulting in me taking a 50k fireball in my face.

  4. Zellviren Says:

    A lot of valid commentary and, to be honest, it's nice to see people (Gwyn, particularly) actually looking at all of the options on Recount. I recall a recent Vault of Archavon 25 Pick up Raid that had a particularly obnoxious shaman in it from one of the top raiding guilds.He linked the healing meter after fighting Koralon and had a go at the main tank healer (a Discipline priest) for slacking so much. He even accompanied it with the obligatory "rofl", "l2p ffs" and other inane comments.What he didn't realise, was that I had downloaded the Guessed Absorb section of Recount. When I linked that number, then pointed out that it meant he had done LESS healing than the priest in question, he insulted the entire raid and left.I suppose what I'm saying is that Recount is a tool for everyone; just that good players know how to use it properly and bad players don't – their heads can't cope with anything that isn't in a pretty colour.

Leave a Reply

